Vegan Crackers

We all want to enjoy a savory treat from time to time, but which crackers are vegan?

Several brands are making these salty delights, but not all of them are suitable for a plant-based diet. Let’s take a closer look at the suitable brands, and find out more. 

Which Crackers Are Vegan?

Back To Nature 

A flavorful, crisp option that is vegan-friendly and available in 21 flavors (not all vegan). The ingredients are non-GMO and even state that their plant-based snacks avoid any ingredients sourced from animals except honey. Look out for this in certain flavors, but the original crackers have a simple ingredient profile that read as follows:

Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Safflower Oil, Cane Sugar, Defatted Wheat Germ, Corn Starch, Sea Salt, Brown Rice Syrup, Malted Barley Extract, Leavening (Monocalcium Phosphate, Baking Soda), Turmeric Extract (for color).

Earth Balance

A 100% vegan company worth supporting, they have even been making a vegan buttery spread since 1998. Vegan cheddar cracker squares sound too good to be true, but they aren’t. Vegan snacks from Earth Balance are great and taste close to the real thing. 

From the Ground Up

A brand that is 100% vegan certified is always good in our eyes. Using cauliflower as the main ingredient, these somehow manage to be both vegan-friendly and deliciously close to the real thing. 

With an authentic cheddar flavor and responsibly sourced palm oil, there is nothing to dislike about these crackers.  

Good Thins

With flavors like Japelino and Lime, these crackers are a crunchy, vegan-friendly delight. It is evident in the ingredient profile of their Sea Salt Pepper flavor which is as follows:

WHOLE GRAIN BROWN RICE FLOUR, WHOLE GRAIN BROWN RICE, POTATO STARCH, HIGH OLEIC SAFFLOWER OIL, RICE STARCH, SEA SALT, SUGAR, SPICE (INCLUDES BLACK PEPPER), NATURAL FLAVOR.

GreenWise

Their four cheese brown rice crackers contain whey and cheese among other non-vegan ingredients, so stay clear of those. 

It appears that their wheat crackers are manufactured on equipment that also handles milk as the ingredients list is full of organic ingredients, yet there is still a warning. Otherwise, these are vegan-friendly. 

ORGANIC WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR, ORGANIC ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE, RIBOFLAVIN, FOLIC ACID), ORGANIC PALM OIL, ORGANIC CANE SUGAR, SALT, ORGANIC CANE SYRUP, ORGANIC WHEAT BRAN, BAKING SODA, ORGANIC MALTED BARLEY EXTRACT, ORGANIC ONION POWDER, ENZYMES. CONTAINS WHEAT. MAY CONTAIN MILK AND SOY.

Late July

Late July Classic Rich Crackers are a favorite for many wanting a savory bite, and with no artificial colors or flavors, they are also vegan-friendly.  

Mary’s Gone Crackers

A fun name, but are Mary’s Gone Crackers suitable for a vegan? The answer is that yes they are, and they even confirm this on their website. 

Nabisco

Their saltine crackers range is among the most popular going, and this is great news as they will be easy for any vegan to find.

All three of their varieties are vegan which means original, salted, and whole wheat can be enjoyed at the plant-based table. 

Organic Triscuit

Original Triscuit Crackers are vegan, but they make several varieties that are off-limits because they contain animal-derived ingredients like buttermilk, non-fat milk, cheese powder, whey protein, and honey powder to name a few. 

Ritz

Readily available, and completely delicious, almost every flavor of theirs is vegan including Bacon and Garlic Butter, and Ritz Whole Wheat Crackers. The only exception is the Honey Wheat Ritz as this includes honey, an animal byproduct.

Simple Mills

Full of organic ingredients, this is a wholesome version that is kind to the earth and a great savory snack. They use almond flour and simple, organic ingredient to make you feel good about snacking with them. 

The ingredients show the vegan-friendliness of these crackers and the Organic Seed Crackers read as a good example:

Organic Seed & Seed Flour Blend (Sunflower, Pumpkin, Flax) Organic Cassava Flour Organic Tapioca Starch Organic Sunflower Oil Sea Salt Organic Carrots Organic Rosemary Extract (For Freshness)

Triscuit

Most of their crackers are vegan, with the odd exception. Their Wheat Thins are made with just 3 simple ingredients, the original is the safest bet, although you can enjoy Roasted Garlic, a Hint Of Salt, and Rosemary & Olive to name a few. 

Avoid any flavors labeled with the word cheese and you should be fine. Also, Vans Crackers Whole Grain Baked Crackers are another excellent, vegan-friendly option. 

Types Of Vegan Crackers

Saltine

Punched with several holes and deliciously salty, these thin crackers are typically made from flour, yeast, and baking soda then covered with flavoring that hopefully does not contain cheese.

Graham

A sweet cracker that is often available in different flavors. These snacks are usually cinnamon flavored, but look out for honey as another common variety to avoid. 

Used to make smores, be sure to avoid marshmallows with gelatin. 

Non-Vegan Ingredients To Look Out For

As a general rule, stay clear of any cheese or dairy-based ingredients such as buttermilk, whey, cheddar, parmesan, milk, or the likes.

There is also 

Popular Non-Vegan Brands To Look Out For

Many store-bought snacks are problematic, but thankfully crackers are not the worst. Still, avoid the likes of Goldfish Crackers as all their flavors contain at least one ingredient derived from milk.

Be wary of some of the vegan-friendly brands as they often have a non-vegan flavor that includes cheese.

Is This Cracker Vegan?

Final Word

It is great to see so many brands making plant-based crackers as the ingredient profiles should always be simple for such a basic snack.

Time to celebrate by spreading some hummus on a saltine cracker or two.